Organisation of the judicial system

The territory of Republic of Lithuania is divided into five judicial counties (Apygarda)- Vilnius, Kaunas, Klaipeda, Šiauliai, Panevežys- consisting 54 judicial districts (Apylinke).
For details:
Organisation of justice. Judicial system of Lithuania (e-Justice website)

Judicial cooperation

General description of the national system for international judicial cooperation in criminal matters

A centralized model (via Ministry of Justice and the Prosecutor General’s Office) for judicial co-operation in criminal matters is established in Lithuania. However Lithuania has ratified the Convention on Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (“Convention 2000”) and has made a declaration on the paragraph 5 Article 27, so the decentralized model is applied in relation to EU Member States.
Competent Authorities for Judicial Co-operation

During pre-trial investigation:

1. Ministry of Justice, Prosecutor General’s Office (centralized model);
2. Regional Prosecutor’s Offices (decentralized model).

During judicial proceedings:

1. Ministry of Justice (centralized model);
2. District courts (decentralized model).

Links to some sections of the EJN website

Links to the relevant sections of the Council of Europe and United Nations Treaties Offices websites containing information on the conventions to which Lithuania is party

National case law relevant for judicial cooperation in criminal matters

Useful national links